He’s Coming Back

I am a child tonight
And crying for You to come home again,
I live in the complexity of paradox,
And grace, and sin,

But tonight I just want You home again.

I’ve read our best wisdom,
And I know my diagnosis,
I know they consider You
My constructed psychosis

But You have never been so cold as this

The time between two points
Becomes the shortest term
And eternity ends and begins
In moments waiting firm:

Nose to the window expecting Your return

And I don’t mind playing the fool
I lose nothing to no great beyond,
And the warmest moments I have known
Are when You correspond

With Your betrothed wife.

And if any part of You is real,
You are worth every breath of my entire life.

Say Something

