Here Am I

I sit in the cold,
With my little fire,
Stirred by my past,
My potential, my desires
Which fuel all

Where I am is cemented
By lead toes,
And iron wills,
And now I know
Where I am

But the harder questions
Still ruminate
Float in the ethereal
Threatening to compensate
Providences hard found

The why, the what,
The ever advancing true
Whispers guesses
At the deeper who
Always taking form

I wanted to be known once,
As though unchangeable
Matter, spirit and breath
Existed unexchangeable,
Impervious.

But these nights,
These words and thoughts
Burning through failures,
The stops and starts
Of fluid existence

Molds the untouchable,
Changing designs,
Or excavating
Who am I and
Who I am.

Say Something

